Home About Us Contact Us Support Us Links


The statement of the Prophet Mohammad (saws): Islam is based on five principles. Narrated by Ibn Umar (raa): ALLAH's Messenger (saws) said: Islam is based on (the following) five principles:

  1. To testify that none has the right to be worshipped but ALLAH (swt) and Muhammad is the Messenger of ALLAH.
  2. To offer the compulsory congregational prayers dutifully and perfectly.
  3. To pay Zakat (a certain fixed proportion of the wealth and of the each and every kind of the property liable to Zakat of a Muslim to be paid yearly for the benefit of the poor in the Muslim community.
  4. To observe fasts according to Islamic teachings during the month of Ramadan.
  5. To perform Hajj (i.e. pilgrimage to Macca).
And must believe in the six articles of Faith, i.e. to believe in:
  1. ALLAH,
  2. His Angels,
  3. His Messengers,
  4. His revealed Books,
  5. The Day of Resurrection, and
  6. Al Qadar (Divine preordainments i.e. whatever ALLAH (swt) has ordained must come to pass.

References to the most authentic Hadith by:

Search in the Hadith
Search keyword: in